Month in Review: January 2017

This month has been particularly hard for a lot of people in the SFF community and elsewhere. I’ve seen comments from writers saying that working in the current climate is like rearranging the deck chairs on the Titanic; but as Gareth L Powell so wonderfully put it, “Art is one of the candles of civilisation. If we abandon it, the bad guys win.”

I’ve been struggling to write since finishing NaNoWriMo just before Christmas. Confronting the fact that I’m not a robot, and not every scrap of writerly advice applies to me, helps. So does spending time with loved ones and recharging my batteries with books, films, and other media. So, no progress with the #12for12stories challenge or novel revision. But here’s what I have been doing:

In January, I particularly enjoyed Guillermo del Toro’s Trollhunters on Netflix. The 26-episode season gives the characters room to expand in a way that a shorter season or film could never do – if you’re in need of escapism, I’d highly recommend it. I’m also knee-deep in Miss Fisher’s Murder Mysteries: so good. I finally read Charlie Jane Anders’ All The Birds In The Sky, and saw Hacksaw Ridge and La La Land at the cinema. (Hacksaw Ridge is gruesome and intense so YMMV, but I thought it was an excellent film.)

Next month, I’ll be reading the latest short fiction and giving my recommendations here, as well as tackling my ever-growing TBR pile. The itch to write may take time to come back, but it always does in the end; when I have news to share on that front, you’ll be the first to know.

Take care and be kind to yourself, wherever you are. You may be too tired to use it just now, but remember: your voice has value.77da14da44ae44d45fcb8043dab9c0c1

Leave a Reply

