Month in Review: February 2017

One of my New Year’s Resolutions was to read more short fiction, because I fell woefully behind last year. So in February, I read the January issues of some of my favourite magazines. I hope to catch up with the February issues this month, but I have copy edits to do and a novella to plan, so we’ll see how that goes!

I didn’t get to read as much as I wanted, but the stories that I particularly enjoyed are:

  • The Ghost Ship Anastasia by Rich Larson; Clarkesworld – a hard sci-fi about a troubled bio-ship and a protagonist willing to risk everything to preserve his sister’s consciousness.
  • A Series of Steaks by Vina Jie-Min Prasad; Clarkesworld – a surprising story about 3D-printing and forgeries in the food industry. I loved the attention to detail when describing the designing and rendering of muscle fibres.
  • The Shipmaker by Aliette de Bodard; Clarkesworld – a reprint, but new to me. A thoughtful exploration of motherhood and prejudice that left an impression for days.
  • Requiem for the Unchained by Cae Hawksmoor; Beneath Ceaseless Skies – airships and the dangerous ether of the dead and the lights that keep them at bay: damn, why didn’t I write this first?
  • Proteus Lost by Tony Pi; Beneath Ceaseless Skies – I loved the in-depth navigation of the magic system, and the treacherous, winding traps it poses to the characters. It has less of an arc than any other story I read this month, but it’s an absorbing piece of world-building.
  • Seven Salt Tears by Kat Howard; Lightspeed – a beautifully-written selkie story, and one of my favourites for the month.
  • Daddy Long Legs of the Evening by Jeffrey Ford; Lightspeed – as soon as the titular spider ate its way into the brain of a boy and made its nest amongst the grey matter, I was hooked (with a shudder).
  • A Human Stain by Kelly Robson; Tor – an isolated house with creepy staff and an even creepier boy, this Gothic horror about a young woman exploring the darkest corners of her new home ticked all the boxes for me. I’m a sucker for Gothic horror.

I’ve been to the cinema a few times as well. Hidden Figures, Logan, and Lego Batman were all really enjoyable for different reasons. I’ve also been watching Legion, Band of Brothers, and Downton Abbey. Oh, and I also picked up a non-fiction book on a whim: How To Be A Victorian by Ruth Goodman. It basically covers a day in the life of a Victorian, addressing all levels of society. Since my own writing tends to skew naturally towards a pseudo-historical setting, the details have been fascinating. I’m sure they’ll prove useful in the future.

As I said, I’m working on copy edits right now, and I hope to have more information on that soon. I’ve also signed up for a novella challenge which will take place during April. It seemed a good way to jump back into writing after such a long dry spell…

Take care, all!77da14da44ae44d45fcb8043dab9c0c1

3 thoughts on “Month in Review: February 2017

  1. I looooved “A Human Stain” – so slow-building and creepy! Will have to check out some more of these, my short fiction reading is also sadly behind. 😦

    Like

Leave a Reply

