Month in Review: March 2017

For me, working in an accountancy and payroll firm, March can be my busiest and most stressful time of the year – which doesn’t leave much energy left over for leisure. But leisure was had, in the form of a four-day stint in London.

We tried Korean food for the first time and were blown away. There’s nothing like this local to us, so it was great to try new flavours! The buns were particularly good, here at On The Bab, Covent Garden; and later in Chinatown.

17353353_10154945922285853_5694931824046530466_n

We also tried out food from Camden and Borough Market. It was all amazing, particularly the soft-boiled scotch eggs and duck confit ciabatta and the crocodile burger and strawberries as big as my fist. *drools at the memory*

The zoo was great –  I finally got to see my favourite animal, a sloth, in the flesh – and Matilda at the Cambridge Theatre at Seven Dials was outstanding.

–  –  –

I’ve started reading The House of Birds by Morgan McCarthy. It’s about Oliver, a burned-out London worker, quitting his job and life in the city in order to renovate an old Oxford house his girlfriend’s inherited, and finding an old diary there written in the 1920s by someone called Sophia who may or may not have lived in the house herself. It reminds me a lot of The Little Stranger by Sarah Waters, which is one of my favourites. The house is old, neglected; and Oliver’s affection for it sometimes feels eerie, as if it could turn sinister at any moment. I’m at the halfway point and so far it’s excellent, so I’d highly recommend it.

I’ve also just finished watching Downton Abbey, so I’m scrabbling around for something appropriately soapy and historical to fill its place.

The Codex novella contest I’ve signed up for starts tomorrow, so I’ll be jumping into that for the next month and a half. I’m using the Seven Point Story Structure to help with plotting (which isn’t going as well as I’d hoped). It’s a story that’s lived inside my head for quite some time now, getting cosy amongst the grey matter, and it’s well past time I booted it out of there and onto the page. Time will tell.77da14da44ae44d45fcb8043dab9c0c1

2 thoughts on “Month in Review: March 2017

  1. Ahh I love London, I really enjoy spending time there, although I’ve never been to Chinatown!

    If you liked Downton Abbey have you tried Mr Selfridge? I haven’t watched it myself but it’s on my list too as I love historical stuff! 🙂

    Like

    1. Chinatown was great, but a little overwhelming – there’s just so many places to eat!! The lanterns and lights were pretty though; we went at the perfect time of day. 🙂

      I think I watched a bit of the first episode and wasn’t sure – it’s set in a department store, right? I really ought to give it another try because I’ve heard it’s good too.

      I’ve always wanted to try Lark Rise to Candleford just because it looks so sweet. 😀

      Like

Leave a Reply

