Month in Review: June 2017

Hi everyone! How are you all?

I turned 27 on the 6th. I ate lots of cake (so much cake…) and treated myself to beautiful hardback editions of Lucy Worsley’s Jane Austen at Home and Daphne du Maurier’s My Cousin Rachel. My boyfriend also bought me a gorgeous omnibus edition of Philip Pullman’s His Dark Materials. ❤️️

DDbPBwhXcAAUKx1

The day job has been full-on; an online course has me studying a few hours a week. I also drafted a new short story and started planning another, and collated initial feedback on the novella I wrote for the Codex contest. I signed up for Camp NaNo to revise this, and set up a cabin. And of course, my contributor’s copy of F&SF came through, so I’ve been reading that. (It’s fantastic, by the way — thoughts coming soon!)

So it’s been a busy month! And yet I’ve been struggling with everything I haven’t done: taking a writing break for the first few months of the year has pushed the progress I’d hoped to make back further than I’d planned.

The goal for next month is to focus on what’s important: time with loved ones, and consuming cool media (anyone else watching GLOW?). F&SF July/August 2017 and Wilde Stories 2017 will be released, so I will be talking about those. I will also tidy up and finish drafting my two new short stories.

The novella… I’ve never written a novella before, so it’s a bit of a mess. It’s hard to know what to do with it, other than rewrite the whole thing and work from there. It’s intimidating; and there’s still the novel I wrote last year, languishing! Once I start revising, I’ll  share my progress here. And if you have your own process or tips for revising, you can share them in the comments!

That’s all for now!

77da14da44ae44d45fcb8043dab9c0c1

 

 

Leave a Reply

